Slide scanning service review

Saturn Films 1969 slide and photo digitising service

Slide scanning service review feedback:

We thoroughly appreciate all of the feedback you send us and, occassionally, request to use your feedback on these pages. We do not pay for this feedback and all of our customers are anonymised – unless you request otherwise. Most of our work is from returning customers and by recommendation to friends family and colleagues. That’s one reason why we are able to keep our prices down, providing a straight forward, high quality service and not paying the earth to promote it!

Many thanks to those of you who have allowed us to include your feedback on these pages 🙂

2020

AG – West Wales September 2020

Hello David,
I just want to say a big ‘thankyou so much’ for your service. I received the USB and slides back this morning and it’s so lovely to be able to view them as full pictures.
I’ll be showing them to my mum later today and I’m sure she’ll be thrilled to recap on a few long lost memories!
If we come across any more slides I will most certainly be sending them your way!
Thanks so much once again.
Regards

——————————

CW – Near Bridgend |June 2020

Hello David
Just a quick email to thank you for the fabulous service you provided. I ve had a quick look at some of the Tifs and they are spot on….aside from the obvious noise reduction/sharpening I don’t think that I will be tweaking much at all.
Really appreciate the service David and just wish I had found you a few years back when I had the bulk of my better pre 2000 negatives scanned. (These were just oddments I didn’t have done last time that I reconsidered after a second look).
A lot of my early 2000 photos were digitised at the time of printing but by modern standards they are a relatively small file size so I may revisit these and cherry pick some more in the near future for scanning. Suffice to say  I will use your services and will also recommend to others without hesitation.
Cheers
——————————

WH – Aberdare April 2020  (this is unedited apart from the personal identifier Many thanks W for this review 🙂   )

Customer Satisfaction
David your company ‘Saturn Films 1969’ deserves far more pubic praise than it appears to be receiving. This is not statement of complaint it seems a shame that lots of people are missing out on the wonderful pleasures that the results of your work can bring to others. The pleasure in our case was 3 generations wide between, myself, my son and latterly my grandson and granddaughter.
I gave to you a long lost length of 8mm film. It was last seen in 1996. It was damaged and deteriorating.  It took 3 days of your technical magic to produce for me, wonderful memories of  a trip in my teen age years. For my son, reawakened memories of his childhood with his great grand parents and their home.   His children, my grandchildren, they aready have had many pleasurable viewings and lots of questions about this little snapshot of life shot on a few frames of film. Now coverted into a little digital thingy that can be plugged into the TV or laptop and enjoyed by all today’s generation’s.
I and they thank you very much for your time effort and skills in producing a USB thingy  which contains a few minutes a absolute pleasure to 3 generations of the same family. I wonder how many others have films or vidoes laying in forgotten corners of their home that could  brought forward in time by your magic and technical expertise  to enjoy all because ‘Saturn Films1969’ has not entered their lives.
David than you again.
WH
You may chop, change , amend and use whatever parts of the above in the benifit and promotion of yourself and your company.
——————————

SB – Dudley April 2020 (during Covid lockdown period)

Hi David

Yes. And the pictures are AWESOME! Thank you for all your hard work. I can’t see Dad atm, obviously, but by the magic of Google Drive I’ve just managed to get them through to him. He was SO pleased. I wish you could have heard him!

Thanks again

——————————

LW – Dorking March 2020

Hello David,

Wow!  How fabulous are they!  Brought tears to my eyes!
Thank you so, so much.  I will be in touch again and definitely would like some more prints.
Kind regards
——————————

AT – Guildford  February 2020

Hi David

Thank you for the USB stick and kind letter which have just arrived. I’ve looked through the scans and it is an absolute delight to see images that I’ve never seen before and many that I thought were lost forever! Thank you for your hard work, care and attention – I’m delighted with the outcome. They are all better than I could have hoped for given the state of the slides – so please go ahead and return the originals when you have a moment – no hurry. Thank you again – I know that the rest of the family will be thrilled to see them too.

——————————

AH ‘a village near London’ February 2020

Hi David,

I have just collected the USB stick, and the photos are wonderful!
What a treasure trove and a delight! Your job must be so intriguing. I am thrilled by the results. Thank you!
——————————-
2019

DH Swansea

Hello David ,
Sorry i have been quite a while giving you feedback on my scans . I am really happy with what you have achieved with them and the quality of the negative scans  they are all brought to life again  for me and my family especially the ones of my mum when young.
It has been a resounding success thanks to your diligence and expertise.

——————————-

JT – Worcester August 2019

Hi David, The package arrived earlier today, and I’ve just had the opportunity to look at the photographs – they’re brilliant, and it’ll be so lovely to pass them on to my brothers! Thank you for doing such a great job on the slides, and also for your customer service – it’s much appreciated!  I’d love to get more of our old slides scanned and printed in the near future, so I’ll be in touch when I’ve organised the next batch! I also wondered if you’d be able to scan and correct a [not quite so ancient] negative (from 1999) which has a small but distracting pink cast on one area?

In the meantime, I wish you well in your current work and ventures…   All the best,   —————-

Jolie, Forest of Dean  May 2019

Hi David

Thank you so much for scanning the negatives and producing the low, medium and high res jpegs onto the 16 GB data stick.

I really appreciate the work you carried out on the colour restoration. I was delighted when I studied your prints of each of the images. Compared to the photos that I had enclosed, your prints reflect such atmosphere, clarity, warmth and depth of colour.

The owls look as if they are lit up by moonlight! The dogs appear more ‘alive’ as the depth of colours and variety of tones reflect the diversity of pastel tints I remember using during their creation.

As I mentioned before, I will be ‘singing your praises’ and referring your website to friends, family and colleagues

Meanwhile, I do have other negatives to send you which will be for a completely different project which I am planning to carry out around July/August.

Kind regards

——————————

BS – Gosport April 2019
Dear David,
Very many thanks for the DVD’s and the return of my slides. I am delighted with them and surprised how well they have reproduced.

Had you been on Facebook I would have been happy to have shared my good fortune in finding you and will of course recommend you to friends etc.
(I DO have a facebook page 🙂 Please be a subscriber, you can read my wittering and rants and the occasional informative article too ! https://en-gb.facebook.com/slidescanningworld/ )

—————————–

LM – Nr Chelmsford
Hi David,
Just to let you know that the usb arrived yesterday. We looked at it last night and are very pleased
with the end result.
The slides can now be returned.
Many thanks for the work you have done.

—————————–

HD – North Wales March 2019

Dear David,
I am delighted with the results of your scanning my slides to a digital medium. My family have enjoyed revisiting the many happy memories we shared, and are very pleased that the photos are preserved for the future.
Thank you for your excellent service in processing my slides.
Kind Regards

——————————-

LC – Toddington January 2019

Sorry for the late reply the photos were amazing thanks so much only got photo book back last week and my Dad loved it . Thank you once again won’t hesitate to recommend your service.
Thanks LC

2018

CH – Liverpool  October 2018

——————————-

Hi David

Yes blown away by them. Fantastic job. Didn’t realise there were so many damaged negs, under/over exposed etc so thanks for getting the best out of them. I’m trying to sift and sort them into a more manageable number and pick a best of. So many forgotten memories. Our Paris trip for instance. We just went and hung out there for a couple of weeks, for no reason at all as you do when your young and carefree. I’ll be seeing **** in a week or so and can’t wait to surprise him. I’m sure he’s got a load more negs which I’ll try and persuade him to send to you.

The technical pan images are amazing. I recently bought a couple of rolls of this film from the USA to do some portraits. It’s well out of date though and I’m not sure yet how I will get it developed.

Also some great shots of Liverpool bands 16 Tambourines and Cook Da Books. I’m still in touch with ******************************* and I’m sure he’ll be made up to see them. I’ll send you some links to these bands.

So thanks again. I’ll be in touch again. I’ve passed your details to my brother whose going to dig out his old negs.

Cheers, Colin

——————————-

LM- Stevenage August 2018

Hi David

I have just received the memory stick. You have done an amazing job and will be happy to recommend you.

Thank you again. Kind regards, Linda

——————————-

BC – Northern Ireland July 2018

David…….what a grand job! Thank you for taking the trouble to produce
such excellent work. Most nearly went in the bin because they’d faded
too much but my wife is going through them as I write this e mail and
she’s so delighted with the clarity of photos of the kids in her class way
back in the 60s. As folk would say here in Ireland..’they’re grand’

——————————-

EB – Northampton Feb 2018

Hi David,

We have at last looked through the cine film conversions you did for us, they all seem to be there, and we are very pleased with the results. I will get back to you some time when we get some transparencies sorted out for digitising.

Regards Eric.

——————————-

2017
SM – Birmingham Nov 2017

Dear David

I am absolutely delighted with the digital conversions of my treasured negative collection. As promised you have carefully processed every negative, (there were about 10,500) and the results are excellent. Even a few damaged ones were rectified to a very good level of quality image which is now reproducible. Your care and attention is clearly evident.

As promised you have sent an unchanged version and an improved version side by side for comparison which enables me choices when re processing them myself such as enlargements and editing etc. The transfer of all the images and delivery to me onto a hard drive in order of process was also an excellent idea. I have since copied them again onto another hard drive for safe keeping.

Having called a number of companies offering this type of service to discuss the service I was looking for, I was taken by your understanding of the sensitivity from the person calling. In my case it is a much treasured historic catalogue over 40 years of my family and my hobby which as you know is railways over the same period. It was this together with the what in my opinion was a great price decided it for me.

I would thoroughly recommend your service to others and already have done, should any of your potential customers wish to have an unbiased reference from me then please give them my contact details. Thank you again.

Yours Truly

SM

(contact details on your files)

SM has subsequently produced an outstanding collection of albums featuring the ‘Deltics’ ‘Warriors’ etc. Thanks for sharing those with me as I said I do not really take the pictures in when I am scanning, I am looking at the quality of the image – colour, contrast, sharpness and so on. It was very special for you to bring those back in the published form. David.

—————

PC – North Wales April 2017

Hi David
Scans and slides arrived safely last week.
Had a chance to look at them yesterday and we are very pleased with the results.
I will be recommending your excellent service to my friends and only wished I had kept more of the ones I discarded a few years ago.
Thank you once again.
Regards

—————

SM – Chesterfield 2017.

David Sack of Saturn Films 1969 has done an absolutely superb job, turning my vast collection of transparencies, negatives and video tapes into digital files. So many memories, until recently confined to the attic and effectively lost, have been retrieved and made accessible and shareable on all the devices we use today.

The quality of the work is first rate. Scans of slides and negatives are all made at very high resolution and were then electronically cleaned to virtually eliminate accumulated dust and fingermarks. Having opted for the professional service, I received the original full resolution scans as well as the standard, compressed edited ones. Editing included cropping to remove any trace of the slide frame or rough edges and, in some cases, manual correction for exposure and colour casts where necessary. Being of much smaller file size, these were the ones that I have used most but having the original uncompressed scan has been great when working on selective enlargements where every bit of resolution is required.

David offers a very personal service and we were involved in regular discussions throughout the course of the job. He was very keen to provide what I wanted as a customer, despite the fact that I was often quite demanding!

One of the great joys of having had this work done is discovering that the quality of pictures taken decades ago is often far higher than I dared hope; vastly superior to the fuzzy, faded prints that were my last memory of the photos. Remember those square enprints from Boots – rounded corners, matt finish and when every sunny day looked orange? Commercial printing of the 70s, 80s and 90s failed to show all the detail that had been captured in the negative and colour fidelity left a lot to be desired. By contrast, scans of the negatives shows that the photographic film of the time was far superior to contemporary printing and it almost feels like you’re seeing images for the very first time. The picture attached to this review was taken in 1964 – the quality is amazing.

I would highly recommend digitisation of anyone’s valuable picture collection and, in particular, the service provided by Saturn Films. It doesn’t cost a great deal; in fact far less per picture than I paid to have poor quality prints made over 40 years ago.

Link to archived feedback

  Saturn-Films 1969,  8 Heol-y-Felin, Cwmgwrach, Glynneath. SA11 5TB

tel.  074 1111 9419

Images are copyright of the image owners.